H.R.338: Stop Tobacco Smuggling in the Territories Act of 2013

About this Bill

This bill was introduced in the 113th Congress
This bill is primarily about crime and law enforcement
You can read the bill
Sponsor Eni F. H. Faleomavaega, D-American Samoa
Total Cosponsors 4 (3 Democrats, 1 Independent)
Introduced Jan. 22, 2013
Latest Major Action March 7, 2013
See it on GovTrack
See it on C-SPAN

Bill Progress

  • Bill introduced in the House   
  • Bill passed in the House   
  • Bill passed in the Senate   
  • Bill signed into law

Bill Summary

(This measure has not been amended since it was introduced. The summary of that version is repeated here.)

Stop Tobacco Smuggling in the Territories Act of 2013 - Amends the federal criminal code to include American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and Guam in the definition of "state" for purposes of provisions prohibiting trafficking in contraband cigarettes and smokeless tobacco.

(Source: Congressional Research Service)

Bill Actions

Date Description
March 7, 2013 Received in the Senate and Read twice and referred to the Committee on the Judiciary.
March 5, 2013 Motion to reconsider laid on the table Agreed to without objection.
March 5, 2013

On motion to suspend the rules and pass the bill Agreed to by the Yeas and Nays: (2/3 required): 421 - 5 (Roll no. 58). (text: CR H965)

March 5, 2013 Considered as unfinished business. (consideration: CR H967-968)
March 5, 2013 At the conclusion of debate, the Yeas and Nays were demanded and ordered. Pursuant to the provisions of clause 8, rule XX, the Chair announced that further proceedings on the motion would be postponed.
March 5, 2013 DEBATE - The House proceeded with forty minutes of debate on H.R. 338.
March 5, 2013 Considered under suspension of the rules. (consideration: CR H965-966)
March 5, 2013 Mr. Goodlatte moved to suspend the rules and pass the bill.
Feb. 28, 2013 Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, Homeland Security, And Investigations.
Jan. 22, 2013 Referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.