H.R.586: Denali National Park Improvement Act

About this Bill

This bill was introduced in the 113th Congress
This bill is primarily about public lands and natural resources
You can read the bill
Sponsor Don Young, R-Alaska
Total Cosponsors 0
Introduced Feb. 6, 2013
Latest Major Action Sept. 20, 2013
See it on GovTrack
See it on C-SPAN

Bill Progress

  • Bill introduced in the House   
  • Bill passed in the House   
  • Bill passed in the Senate   
  • Bill signed into law

Bill Summary

(This measure has not been amended since it was introduced. The summary has been expanded because action occurred on the measure.)

Denali National Park Improvement Act - Authorizes the Secretary of the Interior to issue permits for specified microhydro projects in the Kantishna Hills area within the Denali National Park and Preserve (the Park) in Alaska. Defines "microhydro project" as a hydroelectric power generating facility with a maximum power generation capability of 100 kilowatts and includes any distribution or transmission lines required to serve such area.

Requires the Secretary, within 180 days after submission of a permit application, to complete any analysis required by the National Environmental Policy Act of 1969 respecting any proposed or existing microhydro projects in the area.

Directs the Secretary to exchange Park land near or adjacent to land owned by Doyon Tourism, Inc., located at the mouth of Eureka Creek for approxi...

(Source: Congressional Research Service)

Bill Actions

Date Description
Sept. 20, 2013 Placed on the Union Calendar, Calendar No. 157.
Sept. 20, 2013 Reported by the Committee on Natural Resources. H. Rept. 113-217.
July 24, 2013 Ordered to be Reported by Unanimous Consent.
July 24, 2013 Committee Consideration and Mark-up Session Held.
July 24, 2013 Subcommittee on Public Lands and Environmental Regulation Discharged.
May 9, 2013 Subcommittee Hearings Held.
March 11, 2013 Referred to the Subcommittee on Public Lands and Environmental Regulation.
Feb. 6, 2013 Referred to the House Committee on Natural Resources.