S.RES.522: A resolution expressing the sense of the Senate supporting the U.S.-Africa Leaders Summit to be held in Washington, D.C., from August 4 through 6, 2014.

About this Bill

You can read the bill
Sponsor Christopher A. Coons, D-Del.
Total Cosponsors 6 (4 Democrats, 2 Republicans)
Introduced July 24, 2014
Latest Major Action July 31, 2014
See it on GovTrack
See it on C-SPAN

Bill Progress

  • Bill introduced in the Senate   
  • Bill passed in the Senate   
  • Bill passed in the House   
  • Bill signed into law

Bill Summary

(This measure has not been amended since it was introduced. The summary of that version is repeated here.)

Values the historic U.S. commitment to Africa, and affirms the partnership of the people and government of the United States with the African people.

Affirms a future commitment to increased economic partnership with Africa.

Supports African-led efforts to improve peacekeeping, prevent atrocities, and combat violent extremism and terrorism.

Encourages African leaders to strengthen good governance, the rule of law, and democracy.

Supports efforts to protect and promote women and children, including through investments in education and maternal, newborn, and child health.

Reaffirms the U.S. investment in health care in Africa.

Commends and supports African investments in preventing wildlife trafficking.

Supports the U.S.-Africa Leaders Summit to be held in the United States from August 4 through August 6, 2...

(Source: Congressional Research Service)

Bill Actions

Date Description
July 31, 2014 Resolution agreed to in Senate without amendment and with a preamble by Unanimous Consent. (consideration: CR 8/1/2014 S5315)
July 29, 2014 Placed on Senate Legislative Calendar under General Orders. Calendar No. 498.
July 29, 2014 Committee on Foreign Relations. Reported by Senator Menendez without amendment and with a preamble. Without written report.
July 29, 2014 Committee on Foreign Relations. Ordered to be reported without amendment favorably.
July 24, 2014 Referred to the Committee on Foreign Relations. (text of measure as introduced: CR S4910)