防火长城内:被中国屏蔽的国际新闻网站

2015年2月13日: 我们将测试结果分出额外的两类:“被屏蔽的概率很高”和“被屏蔽的概率很低”。

从2014年11月17日起,ProPublica开始每天测试哪些国际新闻网站受到防火长城的屏蔽。 在我们测试的 18 家网站中,目前有 11 家网站被屏蔽。以下是测试结果。我们使用的是 GreatFire.org 提供的测试服务。GreatFire.org 是一家建立于2011年的新闻审查监测网站,位于中国境内。 研究方法 »

将鼠标置于图表上了解确切日期,pointer 点击了解详情。

被屏蔽

被屏蔽的可能性很高

不能确定

被屏蔽的可能性很低

未检测到屏蔽

我们在北京时间每天下午九点进行测试,用于测试的服务器位于中国境内的不同地点,有时会有多达八个服务器参与测试。ProPublica将测试结果归为以下五个类别:

测试结果含义

被屏蔽 确定被屏蔽。用于测试的所有服务器都检测到了该网站受到屏蔽的迹象。可能的屏蔽手段包括:域名劫持连接重设,和 屏蔽IP地址
被屏蔽的可能性很高 在用于测试的所有服务器中,至少75%的服务器检测到了该网站受到屏蔽的迹象。
不能确定 矛盾的结果。用于测试的某些服务器检测到了该网站受到屏蔽的迹象,而其他服务器没有检测到。这意味着该网站可能在中国的某些区域被屏蔽,或某些区域的网络供应商遇到了技术故障。
被屏蔽的可能性很低 在用于测试的所有服务器中,至少75%的服务器通过了测试,未检测到该网站受到屏蔽的迹象。
未检测到屏蔽 可访问。 该首页通过了所有测试,在中国境内可以访问。

ProPublica将继续追踪这些网站受到屏蔽的情况, 并可能加入新的网站。如果你有建议,请使用以下邮箱联系Sisi Wei:sisi.wei@propublica.org.

Lena Groeger, Mike TigasYue Qiu也参与了设计和开发。

研究方法

经过 GreatFire.org 的同意, ProPublica使用了他们的免费测试工具来检测国际新闻网站在中国境内是否遭到屏蔽。 GreatFire.org的匿名创建者是中国境内反对网络新闻审查的社会活动家。

GreatFire.org目前只在收到请求时才对ProPublica数据库中的网站进行测试,因此本应用的历史记录并没有覆盖2014年全年。从2014年11月17日开始,ProPublica选取了15家新闻网站进行每日测试,并于12月5日加入了另外3家网站。我们将在可预见的将来继续对这些网站进行测试并每日更新数据库。

2015年2月13日,ProPublica更新了所有测试结果,并将测试结果分出额外的两类:“被屏蔽的概率很高”和“被屏蔽的概率很低”。“被屏蔽的概率很高”这一分类中,用于测试的大多数服务器都检测到了该网站受到屏蔽的迹象;“被屏蔽的概率很低”这一分类中,用于测试的大多数服务器都没有检测到该网站受到屏蔽的迹象。

我们之所以选取这18家新闻网站,是因为他们或有着重要的国际影响力,或在过去几年中因为刊登某些新闻而遭到中国防火长城的屏蔽。我们仍然 有能力在数据库中添加更多网站。所以如果你认为我们应该加入某个网站,请将邮件发至 sisi.wei@propublica.org 联系我们。

为了获得最准确测试结果,对于防火长城的测试需要在该国境内的服务器上进行。但是这样做会带来很多风险。反复访问被屏蔽网站会被一些当地政府发现并可能导致危险的后果。在过去的一年里,ProPublica一直在实验一种有效的方式在全球范围内监测新闻审查和网站屏蔽,尝试使用被测试国家国境内的服务器。但目前我们还没有找到可行的方法保护当地测试参与者的安全。但是我们没有放弃,并将继续寻找可行的方法。与此同时,我们使用了已有的GreatFire服务来监测中国的防火长城。

为了获取每个网站在被屏蔽情况改变时的首页信息,我们使用了记者Ben Welsh设计的 PastPages.org。 PastPages.org 目前追踪了近100家网站,每隔一小时抓取每个网站的首页截屏。 我们使用了 PastPages.org 的测试版API来获取距离测试时间最近的网站首页截图,用户也可以使用我们提供的链接查看该网站过去一天的截图。

如果想了解更多GreatFire.org 的测试方法,请查看他们的 常见问题

Inside the Firewall: Tracking the News That China Blocks

Update Feb. 13, 2015: We've added two additional categories: "likely blocked" and "likely not blocked."

Every day since Nov. 17, 2014, ProPublica has been testing whether the homepages of international news organizations are accessible to browsers inside China. Of the 18 in our test, 14 are currently blocked. Below are the results. To test, we use GreatFire.org, a censorship monitoring service in China that launched in 2011. Methodology »

Hover over the graphic to see dates. pointer Click on a date to see more details.

BLOCKED

LIKELY BLOCKED

INCONCLUSIVE

LIKELY NOT BLOCKED

NO CENSORSHIP DETECTED

Our automated tests run around 8 a.m. U.S. Eastern Time, which is 9 p.m. in Beijing. They run on up to eight servers in separate locations in China, and ProPublica has parsed the results into five categories:

What the Results Mean

Blocked Definitively blocked. All of the servers that tested the page detected signs of censorship. The tests are able to detect censorship techniques such as DNS Poisoning, connection-reset packets, and IP address blocking.
Likely Blocked At least 75 percent of the servers that tested this page detected signs of censorship.
Inconclusive Contradictory results. Some but not all of the servers detected signs that the page is blocked. This could mean that some but not all areas of China are blocking the page, or simply that some Internet service providers in China are experiencing technical difficulties.
Likely not blocked At least 75 percent of the servers that tested this page passed all tests detecting signs of censorship.
No censorship detected Available. The page has passed all tests detecting signs of censorship and is available inside China.

ProPublica will continue to monitor news sites daily, and may add additional news sites in the future. Know a site we should add? E-mail Sisi Wei at sisi.wei@propublica.org.

Additional design and development by Lena Groeger, Mike Tigas and Yue Qiu.

Methodology

ProPublica, with permission, used data from GreatFire.org, a free service that anybody can use to test if a website is accessible within China. Its pseudonymous founders are activists who created the site to highlight online censorship in China.

GreatFire.org currently runs tests for the sites in ProPublica's database only upon request. Historical test results are therefore not necessarily available every day. On Nov. 17, 2014, ProPublica began initiating daily tests for 15 international news sites, and on Dec. 5, we added three more sites for testing. We plan to continue testing and updating this database every day for the foreseeable future.

On Feb. 13, 2015, ProPublica updated all of our test results to include two additional categories: "likely blocked" and "likely not blocked." "Likely blocked" includes sites where most of our test results have detected signs of censorship. "Likely not blocked" includes sites where most of our test results did not detect signs of censorship.

We chose the 18 sites in our test because of their status as internationally important news sites or because they’ve recently run stories that led them to be blocked inside China. We are able to add more sites to the database. If you think you know a site we should be testing, let us know by emailing sisi.wei@propublica.org.

The most accurate test of censorship is conducted inside the censoring country, but doing so comes with a variety of risks. Continual attempts to visit blocked sites are detectable by the local authorities, and can therefore be dangerous political activity. ProPublica has spent the last year attempting to perfect a way to test censorship around the world using computers inside each censoring country. We have not yet found a testing method that would ensure participants’ safety, though we continue to look for a solution. In the meantime, we’re using the GreatFire service already available inside China.

To show what was on each news site’s homepage when it was or was not blocked, we used PastPages.org, a service run by journalist Ben Welsh. PastPages saves screenshots of news organization homepages once every hour. It is currently tracking nearly 100 websites. Using a beta version of the PastPages API, ProPublica shows users the screenshots taken as close as possible to when we conducted each day’s censorship tests. Readers can easily explore far more screenshots of any given day on PastPages itself, using the links we provide.

Additional information on how GreatFire.org reports test results can be found on their FAQ.