SOPA Opera

Find your representatives

Sen. Lindsey Graham

Republican from South Carolina

Update (1/20/2012): SOPA and PIPA have been indefinitely postponed; see statements by Sen. Harry Reid and Rep. Lamar Smith.


Stance on PIPA
Years served in Senate
% Votes with Party
Phone 202-224-5972
Fax 202-224-3808
Office 290 Russell Senate Office Building
Official homepage

Financial Contributions by Industry

This reported campaign contributions information comes from the OpenSecrets/Center for Responsive Politics API (read more about their campaign-contributions-per-industry API). You can also visit the OpenSecrets profile for Sen. Graham.

Industry Election Cycle Amount
Computers/Internet 2010 $5,250
2008 $14,000
TV/Movies/Music 2010 $21,993
2008 $47,458

Timeline: Sen. Graham and PIPA

A list of statements and legislative actions made by Sen. Graham relating to PIPA. Contact us at sopa[at] if you have additions or corrections.

Jan 19, 2012 Statement on PIPA: "This is a healthy debate"
“I am a strong supporter of protecting intellectual property rights, which is vital to the American economy. Online piracy is a direct threat to the competing principles of copyright protection and web freedom. I hope that the two sides will realize their shared interests and come together to help fix this problem. This is a healthy debate, and the opposition to PIPA and SOPA have raised some legitimate questions. If we can make this bill better, let’s do it.”
May 26, 2011 Votes to move PIPA out of committee
Part of unanimous vote of approval by Senate Judiciary committee to move PIPA forward.
May 12, 2011 Co-sponsors PIPA
Nov 18, 2010 Votes to move COICA out of committee
The Senate Judiciary committee voted unanimously to move COICA forward.
Sep 21, 2010 Cosponsors Combating Online Infringement and Counterfeits Act, S. 3804
COICA contained similar provisions and battle lines as PIPA does. It never reached a full Senate vote and was re-written in 2011 as the PROTECT-IP Act (i.e. PIPA).

See a complete list of actions and statements by members of Congress